IT’S MONDAY WHAT ARE YOU READING?

cheers!

Hosted by Kathryn at Bookdate

Last week found me struggling yet again with my reading mood swings. Sometimes I think I’m in the mood for a particular book or genre but then I find myself unable to connect for one reason or another.  Does anyone else struggle with being a mood reader? How do you handle it? I thought I’d turn to tv for something different but I didn’t really find anything other than my absolute fav YOUNGER & The Bachelorette (totally boring last week IMO). Movie wise, we watched Baby Driver which was SO weird yet really good! I was able to actually read 1 book last week (I told you…it’s a bad slump), after trying and discarding several:(

RECENTLY READ…

28264701

Hum if You Don’t Know the Words Perfect for readers of The Secret Life of Bees and The Help, a perceptive and searing look at Apartheid-era South Africa, told through one unique family brought together by tragedy. I was drawn in by the comparison to The Help and this book totally delivered; it wasn’t the same storyline but evoked similar feelings in me. This was an atmospheric novel that I’d describe as part coming of age, part mystery, part drama and all around great read. Review coming later this week

TRIED BUT COULDN’T GET INTO…..

23014754347054793174889032979014

As I said, it was a long week for trying and not connecting with several books. I know I’ll return to The Fallen I think the pace was just too slow to start for me. As for the others, I probably won’t return to any.  I was pretty bored with the story and/or characters in all 3 and also couldn’t suspend my disbelief enough to keep going with The Marriage Pact.

CURRENTLY READING…

23602561

 

The Cartel  a gripping, true-to-life, ripped-from-the-headlines epic story of power, corruption, revenge, and justice spanning the past decade of the Mexican-American drug wars. I decided to dive back into my past tbr and give the shiny new releases a short break. Since I’m on a Don Winslow kick after loving The Force, I jumped right into The Cartel and I have to say I’m loving this saga pitting a DEA agent against the leader of a drug cartel. Suspenseful reading!

 

CURRENTLY LISTENING TO….

29326413

 

The Jealous Kind  An atmospheric, coming-of-age story set in 1952 Texas as the Korea War rages. On its surface, life in Houston is as you would expect: drive-in restaurants, souped-up cars, jukeboxes, teenagers discovering their sexuality. But beneath the glitz and superficial normalcy, a class war has begun, and it is nothing like the conventional portrayal of the decade. Will Patton narrates this story and he’s truly one of the best narrators I’ve heard. I love having a great audiobook going for walking the dog, driving, house projects etc. and I’m really liking this one

 

WHAT I MIGHT READ NEXT….

315747412974047831364727

Safe   Ricky Mendoza Jr. is trying to make good. As a teenager, he was a ruthless gangbanger, addict, and killer until he got out and met Rose. As an adult, in recovery and working as a safecracker for the DEA, Ghost is determined to live “clean” to honor Rose’s memory—until he stumbles upon an opportunity to repay the debts of his past. Clearly I’m in a crime thriller mood:)

This is How It Always Is   This is how a family keeps a secret…and how that secret ends up keeping them.  This is how a family lives happily ever after…until happily ever after becomes complicated.  This is how children change…and then change the world.
This is how a family lives happily ever after…until happily ever after becomes complicated. This just came in at the library, I’ve heard great things about it!

Holding  Graham Norton’s masterful debut is an intelligently crafted story of love, secrets and loss. I’m really curious about this one, especially the love and secrets part.

What are YOU reading this week? 

Here’s hoping I can get through more than 1 book this week! Wish me luck. I hope you have a fantastic reading week! 

 

Published by

47 thoughts on “IT’S MONDAY WHAT ARE YOU READING?

  1. I think I would like Hum if you don’t know the words.The setting and the comparisons all sound great. Glad to see that you enjoyed it. I am currently reading Leavers by Lisa Ko but currently not feeling it. I think I am in the mood for something fast, thrilling so may switch it up.

    Enjoy your books this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do think you’d like Hum If you don’t know the words Diana. I read it in a day and half so while it’s not a true thriller in the usual sense, I had a hard time putting it down. I had looked up The Leavers at one point and saw many low ratings so I passed it by. Hope you find a good thriller, have a great reading week:)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Sarah, I’ve heard such good things about that one so I’ll give it a try after The Cartel. I think I’m in a new release slump that’s for sure so maybe reading from my backlist will do the trick. Hope you can stay out of one!

      Like

    1. I just won The Essex Serpent in a goodreads giveaway and have heard great things about it so I’m glad to hear your also enjoying it. I’m so intrigued by the concept and setting in that one

      Like

  2. I’m definitely a mood reader, too. For me the mood determines which books I’ll even try. I rarely will go back to a book once I’ve passed on it.

    Sorry your week has been tough. I hate that. I think you’ll really like This Is How It Always Is. That book was such a pleasant change of pace and the family is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Susie and you and Sarah have highly recommended This is How it Always Is so I’m feeling confident about that one. And I’m also like you in that my mood does determine if I even open up a book in the first place, but I often will try review copies if the pub date is approaching and hope the writing draws me in. Sometimes it works and others not so much:)

      Like

  3. Hopefully diving into the past will bring you better luck this week! The Jealous Kind sounds interesting. I’m looking forward to your thoughts on it. As you know I loved This is How It Always Is, crossing my fingers you will too 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Totally not surprised you didn’t warn to the Marriage Pact, it was hard for me to suspend disbelief and that stuff usually doesn’t bother me.

    Bachelorette was super boring, hopefully hometowns are better? And hope you have a good week!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I know, I’m going to feel so bad for Dean…Reality Steve said his dad lives as a “wizard” yikes….I just hope the show doesn’t exploit someone who probably has mental illness…what am I saying of course they probably will:(

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Last night I finished The Baker’s Secret by Stephen P. Kiernan. A terrific story that sounds superficial on the surface but has great sense of community and love during the German occupation of a coastal town in France during WWII. The story centers on a young woman who was apprenticed to the baker in town and was a very talented bread maker. When the commander tasted her bread he ordered her to make 12 baguettes per day for his officers. She would be allotted the flour necessary to make those loaves. Instead she started added pulverized straw to the flour in order to allow her to make an additional 2 loaves per day. She shared these loaves with those in her community who needed them. In her travels to deliver the extra loaves she finds out the needs of her friends and neighbors and starts trading with others to get what each needs. Everyone is waiting for the Allies to rescue them from this terrible oppression and just as she is found out for all of her deeds the Allies attack on June 4, 1944. I have read quite a few WWII stories and this one located in a small village in France is a new slant. People will do many things to survive during times of war and this story shows a village and its people and how each copes.
    I am now turning to Scott Turow’s new book Testimony. I book I also read last week was Camino Island by John Grisham. This is a total departure from his usual courtroom drama, but an excellent read. It is about rare books and manuscripts. The original manuscripts by F. Scott Fitzerald were stolen and a bookstore owner on Camino Island becomes the one who purchases them but in the meantime the insurance company hires a young author to go to the island and find out if the bookstore owner has them as they think.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So sorry for your reading slump! I haven’t had one in a while, but I hate them when I do!! I really wanted to read The Marriage Pact, but I think I might pass…I think I’m going to give Hum If You Don’t Know the Words a try since I loved The Help; fantastic book!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Sounds great! 🙂 Thanks! I just finished The Trespassers by Tana French last week, and it was fantastic! I’m going to start at the beginning and work my way through them. She’s a wonderful writer. Thanks for talking me into reading them!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I will! I just realized the books have different detectives, lol! I was expecting Antoinette to be in book 1 and she’s not…well then! Interesting, now I can see why they can be read out of order 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi, shame you only read one this week, how many do you normally manage? I’m kind of in the middle of three books but only reading two at the moment. my plan is to finish one of them today. I’m reading Clelie Avit – I’m still here, JoJo Moyes – After you(which I’m liking better than the first) and John Donghue – Police crime 999

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I usually try to read 2, sometimes 3 books a week but it’s not often I finish 3. I did read After You and have to say I liked the first one better. I think people have been split on it. I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I’ve not heard of police crime 999

      Like

  8. Good to hear you were able to connect to a story again! The Cartel sounds fascinating; I love his writing style and have a special interest in anything ‘war on drugs’ so I’m definitely adding it to my wishlist. Have a wonderful week!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Aww I’m sorry you are in a reading slump. “This is How it Always is” sounds really good. I hadn’t come across that one. Looks like I’m adding another book to my tbr 🙂
    Right now I’m reading “If the Creek Don’t Rise” and “Every Last Lie”, Both are pretty good so far.
    Well, I’m crossing my fingers for you…I hope you are soon into a wonderful book!
    Happy almost weekend, lovely lady!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Deanna! I’ll read myself out of this slump I’m sure..I’ve heard If the Creek Don’t Rise is good so I’ll be interested in hearing your thoughts. Have a great, reading filled weekend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s